Skip to main content
University of Michigan Innovation Partnerships
University of Michigan Innovation Partnerships

University of Michigan Inventors Named 2023 National Academy of Inventors Fellows


Innovation Partnerships is proud to announce Dr. Kevin Ward, executive director of the Weil Institute and Professor of Emergency Medicine and Biomedical Engineering and Dr. Lynn Conway, Professor Emerita, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science have been inducted into the 2023 National Academy of Inventors Fellows. This recognition is the highest professional distinction awarded solely to inventors.

“This is the highest honor our inventors can receive and I am incredibly pleased for Drs. Ward and Conway,” said Kelly Sexton, associate vice president for research – innovation partnerships and economic impact. “Their acceptance into the 2023 class of NAI Fellows is a testament to their work, which has had an outstanding impact for the betterment of society.”

The NAI Fellows Program was established to celebrate academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating innovations that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development and the welfare of society. To be inducted, a fellow must first be nominated by their peers. They must also be a named inventor on patent(s) issued by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) and affiliated with a university, non-profit research institute or other academic entity to qualify. The nominations are reviewed by a committee who invite the nominee to join the next NAI Fellows class. 

Since 2013, thirteen University of Michigan faculty members have been named NAI Fellows. U-M President Dr. Santa Ono also received the honor through the University of British Columbia in 2013.